Short answer: GMGN's own documentation states a flat 1% handling fee per transaction. FOMO prices Solana trades in four bands instead of one flat rate. Below about $95 per trade, GMGN is cheaper. Above $95, FOMO's bands turn cheaper, and the gap widens to half of GMGN's fee once an order clears 190 USDC.
Independent affiliate guide. We may earn a share of trading fees through our code. Product instructions are based on public documentation unless a specific observation is labelled. Evidence and limits.
The numbers, from each platform's own documentation
Neither of these is a figure we estimated. GMGN's own documentation states it “only charges a 1% handling fee for a single transaction, and there are no additional charges”, on top of network gas and any optional priority tip you set. FOMO's rates come from its help centre article Trading fees on fomo: four Solana bands by order size, and a flat 0.50% plus network gas on every other chain it supports.
Platform fee per Solana trade, before any referral discount. Excludes network gas, priority tips and slippage, which both platforms pass through.
| Trade size | FOMO (Solana bands) | GMGN (1%) | Cheaper |
|---|---|---|---|
| $20 | $0.40 | $0.20 | GMGN |
| $50 | $0.95 | $0.50 | GMGN |
| $100 | $0.95 | $1.00 | FOMO |
| $200 | $1.00 | $2.00 | FOMO |
| $1,000 | $5.00 | $10.00 | FOMO |
From 5 to below 47.50 USDC, FOMO's 2% band costs more than GMGN's flat 1%. From 47.50 to 190 USDC, FOMO charges a flat 0.95 USDC regardless of size, while GMGN keeps charging 1% of the order, so the two cross at $95: below it GMGN is cheaper, above it FOMO's flat fee is cheaper. Past 190 USDC, FOMO drops to a flat 0.50%, half of GMGN's rate, and the gap in dollar terms keeps widening with the trade size. On a $1,000 trade the difference is $5.
Documented referral scope and unknowns
A FOMO referral code takes 10% off the standard 0.50% rate, so a $1,000 trade costs $4.50 instead of $5.00. FOMO's help centre documents that discount against the 0.50% rate only. It does not state whether the smaller Solana bands, the flat 0.10 USDC fee, the 2% band or the flat 0.95 USDC fee, are also reduced, so we do not assume they are. Below 190 USDC, plan around the full band fee shown above.
GMGN runs its own referral programme with commission tiers. FOMO describes support-assisted attachment or referrer changes in specified situations after signup. Consult each platform's current referral terms rather than assuming identical rules.
Referral code
VIP10
FOMO's published offer: 10% off trading fees
Open FOMO with VIP10 →FOMO documents a reduction from its standard 0.50% fee to 0.45%. Duration and discounts on other fee bands are not specified. The public VIP10 page displays this offer; account acceptance has not been independently tested here. Check the fee in your account. Terms can change.
Independent affiliate guide. We may earn trading-fee commission if you use our code.
They are not actually the same product
Fee comparison is the useful part, but it is not the whole decision. These tools point at different users.
GMGN is a terminal. Its centre of gravity is chart-and-filter analysis: new-pair scanners, wallet trackers, copy-trade bots configured with your own parameters. It assumes you already know what a bonding curve is and want more control over execution, including the priority tip you set per transaction. It runs in a browser and expects a wallet.
FOMO is a consumer app. It is an iOS and Android app with a non-custodial wallet built in, no seed phrase, and Apple Pay funding. It does not have a copy trading feature. What it has instead is a real-time feed showing every trade on the platform, a follow option on any trader's profile, and a leaderboard ranked by actual results. Every trade is still placed by hand. FOMO supports Solana, Base, BNB Chain, Monad, Ethereum and Robinhood Chain from one account.
Someone running a wallet-tracking strategy across a dozen positions will find FOMO limiting. Someone who wants to buy a trending token from their phone in twenty seconds will find GMGN's interface a wall.
Pick GMGN if
- You trade in small sizes. Under $95 per trade, GMGN's flat 1% beats every one of FOMO's bands below that line, the single strongest argument for GMGN, and a real one.
- You want execution control. Priority-fee tuning, custom slippage and sniping parameters are GMGN's reason to exist.
- You already run your own wallet. If self-custody with a seed phrase is a feature to you rather than a chore, FOMO's embedded wallet is solving a problem you do not have.
Pick FOMO if
- You trade above 190 USDC. Half of GMGN's documented ordinary platform rate for that order size, before other costs. Selected majors have separate pricing.
- You want it on your phone. Apple Pay in, trade through the app across Solana, Base, BNB Chain, Monad, Ethereum and Robinhood Chain; we have not timed onboarding or execution.
- You want a social feed instead of a bot console. A real-time feed of every trade and a follow option, with nothing to configure, is FOMO's actual product.
Where this comparison could be wrong
Two caveats we would rather state than bury. First, neither figure covers the whole cost of a trade: priority tips on GMGN and slippage on both can exceed the platform fee on thin liquidity, and they vary per trade in ways no table can capture. Second, both platforms can change their fee schedule without warning us. The source dates identify which documents were checked; review the current quote before relying on the example.
A third caveat is specific to Solana. FOMO covers network gas, priority fees and token rent on that chain itself, so the fee figures remain platform-fee comparisons, with token-contract or pool costs and price impact still possible. GMGN passes gas and any priority tip straight through to the trader, on top of its 1% handling fee, so a GMGN trade during network congestion can cost more than the flat 1% in the table suggests. Factor that in on high-traffic days before you assume the gap between the two platforms is exactly what the table shows.
Related: FOMO's full fee breakdown, the six chains FOMO supports, the wider alternatives list, and the VIP10 referral code page with our limited, linked sample of public code advertisements. Not sure the app suits you at all? Start with the safety breakdown or the review.
Sources and dates
These sources support the documented claims. A public-source check does not verify account acceptance or a completed trade. Historical observations retain their original dates. Read the evidence limits and corrections.