How to buy a token on FOMO

Short answer: find the token in search or the feed, enter an amount, check slippage, confirm. It takes about fifteen seconds, which is the point of the app and also its main risk. The number worth knowing before you tap: below 190 USDC, a Solana buy pays a banded fee instead of a flat 0.50%, and the smaller the order, the higher the effective rate.

Independent affiliate guide. We may earn a share of trading fees through our code. Product instructions are based on public documentation unless a specific observation is labelled. Evidence and limits.

Finding something to buy

Three routes, and they suit different intentions.

A caveat on the third route, since it is the one the app pushes hardest. Leaderboards rank on realised profit, which selects for people who took enormous risk and happened to win. Seeing a position tells you what someone bought. It does not tell you their size relative to their net worth, their thesis, or when they intend to sell. Copying an entry without the exit is half a strategy. FOMO does not have a copy-trading feature at all; read what following a trader actually does before you tap.

Reading the trade screen

FOMO's official App Store screenshot of the buy screen: a $100 MOODENG order, percentage shortcuts, and the Buy with Apple Pay button
The buy screen, from FOMO's App Store listing: amount, percentage shortcuts, one button. The fee and slippage sit behind the quote, which is why the table below exists.
FieldWhat it meansWhat to watch
AmountWhat you spend, in USD or SOLUnder 190 USDC triggers the banded fee
You receiveEstimated tokens at current priceChanges between quote and confirmation on volatile tokens
SlippageHow far the price may move before the trade failsHigh slippage on thin liquidity costs more than the fee
Fee0.50% at 190 USDC and above, banded below that0.45% with a referral code, at 190 USDC and above

Slippage is the field most people ignore and the one that costs the most. On a thinly traded token, a wide slippage setting means your order fills at a materially worse price than the quote, and you never see a line item for it. Tighten it and the trade fails instead, which on a token that is moving fast is often the better outcome.

The 190 USDC rule

5 USDC47.50 USDC190 USDC2% on a $20 order0.50% flat0%0.5%1%1.5%2%2.5%3%3.5%$3$5$47.5$190$1,000Order size, USDC (log scale)
Effective fee rate by order size on Solana, from FOMO's four published bands: a flat 0.10 USDC under 5 USDC, 2% from 5 to 47.50 USDC, a flat 0.95 USDC from 47.50 to 190 USDC, and 0.50% at 190 USDC and above. Base, BNB Chain, Monad, Ethereum and Robinhood Chain charge 0.50% at every order size, plus the network fee, with no banding.

FOMO prices a Solana buy in four bands. Under 5 USDC the fee is a flat 0.10 USDC. From 5 to 47.50 USDC it is 2% of the order. From 47.50 to 190 USDC it is a flat 0.95 USDC. At 190 USDC and above it is 0.50% of the trade. The bands connect exactly at 190 USDC, the order size above which every extra dollar costs exactly 0.50%.

A $150 buy pays the flat 0.95 USDC fee, $0.95. A $200 buy pays 0.50%, $1.00. The larger order costs more in dollars and less as a share of the trade.

Order size changes the platform fee, but a larger position also changes your exposure. Do not enlarge a trade merely to reach a fee threshold. Full table at every size on the fee page, and the quick version at how much does FOMO charge.

Buying with a referral code

FOMO publishes a standard 10% trading-fee referral offer, without a documented unconditional lifetime duration. The discount applies to the 0.50% rate at 190 USDC and above, which becomes 0.45%. FOMO's help centre does not state whether the flat 0.10 USDC fee, the 2% band, or the flat 0.95 USDC fee also carry the discount. On a buy under 190 USDC, check the fee line on the trade screen rather than assume the code cut it.

Buying a major token

Selected major tokens carry a lower rate of 0.05% per trade instead of the standard schedule. An order under 1,000 USDC pays a flat minimum of no more than 0.50 USDC. An order of 1,000 USDC or more pays 0.05% with no minimum. The token page inside the app shows which tokens qualify, and eligibility can change if a token's volume or market cap moves.

What happens after you confirm

The swap executes on-chain. On Solana, FOMO covers network gas, priority fees and token rent, so you do not pay them separately or hold a separate token for network fees. On Base, BNB Chain, Monad, Ethereum and Robinhood Chain, the network fee is added on top and shown in the quote before you confirm. Check the submitted transaction and updated portfolio; we have not measured confirmation or display latency. FOMO describes its trading wallet as non-custodial.

Then plan the exit, because the fee is charged again on the way out. A buy and sell of equal notionals at or above 190 USDC incur platform fees totaling 1.00% of the initial notional. Actual break-even depends on the exit size, fee funding and execution.

Referral code

VIP10

FOMO's published offer: 10% off trading fees

Get 10% off fees with VIP10 →

FOMO documents a reduction from its standard 0.50% fee to 0.45%. Duration and discounts on other fee bands are not specified. The public VIP10 page displays this offer; account acceptance has not been independently tested here. Check the fee in your account. Terms can change.

Independent affiliate guide. We may earn trading-fee commission if you use our code.

Do not buy on FOMO if

Next: closing the position, funding the account first, running the numbers on a real trade, or the risk picture in full.

Sources and dates

These sources support the documented claims. A public-source check does not verify account acceptance or a completed trade. Historical observations retain their original dates. Read the evidence limits and corrections.

  1. Trading fees on fomoFOMO Labs help centre · public source read 18 September 2026
  2. Is the fomo app safe?FOMO Labs · recorded source date 21 August 2026 · historical source; not rechecked in this update
  3. Can I use Apple Pay to buy crypto?FOMO Labs · recorded source date 21 August 2026 · historical source; not rechecked in this update