How to sell and close a position on FOMO

Short answer: open the position in your portfolio, tap sell, choose a percentage, confirm. The part worth reading is the arithmetic. FOMO charges the fee on the exit as well as the entry, so equal entry and exit notionals of at least 190 USDC incur fees totaling 1.00% of the initial notional before any other cost. Below 190 USDC the banded Solana fee applies on both legs, and the smaller the order, the higher the round-trip cost.

Independent affiliate guide. We may earn a share of trading fees through our code. Product instructions are based on public documentation unless a specific observation is labelled. Evidence and limits.

People plan around one leg. A trade has two.

A quoted platform rate describes one transaction. Buying and later selling incurs a fee on each leg, and the exit notional can differ from the entry. Our examples below keep the two notionals equal to isolate the fee schedule.

Standard Solana fees for equal buy and sell notionals, excluding slippage and other costs. Fees as a percentage of the initial notional are not an exact break-even price move.

PositionFee per legTotalFees / initial notional
$50$0.95$1.903.80%
$100$0.95$1.901.90%
$190$0.95$1.901.00%
$500$2.50$5.001.00%
$5,000$25.00$50.001.00%

A $190 buy followed by a $190 sell at the standard rate incurs $1.90. With a referral code it costs $1.71, because FOMO documents the discount against the 0.50% rate that applies at 190 USDC and above. Below that line, FOMO's help centre does not state whether the banded fee also carries the discount, so verify the fee line on each leg before you rely on it. Actual execution, token/pool charges and changing exit size can alter the result. Use the profit calculator for a cashflow model with explicit assumptions.

Closing a position

  1. Open the position

    Portfolio tab, then the token. The screen shows your entry, current value and unrealised profit or loss.

  2. Choose how much

    Percentage buttons of 25%, 50% or 100%, or a custom amount. Partial exits are the useful case, covered below.

  3. Check slippage before confirming

    Exiting a falling token is exactly when liquidity is thinnest and slippage worst, and that is exactly when it costs you.

  4. Confirm

    Proceeds land in your wallet as SOL or a stablecoin. From there you can trade again or withdraw.

Partial exits and the banded fee

$0$2$4$6$81 slice of $400: $2.00 in fees1 × $400$2.002 slices of $200: $2.00 in fees2 × $200$2.004 slices of $100: $3.80 in fees4 × $100$3.808 slices of $50: $7.60 in fees8 × $50$7.6016 slices of $25: $8.00 in fees16 × $25$8.00Total fees to exit one $400 position, amber bars fall inside a banded slice size
The same $400 position, closed five different ways. Once a slice falls below 190 USDC it pays FOMO's banded Solana fee instead of the flat 0.50%, so sixteen small exits cost four times what one exit costs. Two or three larger slices keep most of the risk management without the penalty.

Each partial exit is a separate order and can enter a different fee band. This affects cost, but does not establish which exit plan is appropriate for your risk or market conditions.

Selling a $400 position in one exit costs $2.00. Selling it in four $100 slices costs $3.80. Selling it in sixteen $25 slices costs $8.00, four times the single-exit cost for the same money.

These equal-price examples isolate the fee effect of splitting an order. Waiting to combine exits can also change exposure and execution; a smaller fee is not proof of a better trading outcome. Full schedule on the fee page.

Selling a major token

Selected major tokens carry a lower rate of 0.05% per trade instead of the standard schedule. An order under 1,000 USDC pays a flat minimum of no more than 0.50 USDC. An order of 1,000 USDC or more pays 0.05% with no minimum. That lower rate applies on the sell side too, on both legs of a round trip, if the token still qualifies. The token page inside the app shows current eligibility, which can change if a token's volume or market cap moves.

Withdrawing after you sell

Selling converts a position back into your cash balance, not automatically into your bank account. From there, FOMO processes bank withdrawals through Spritz for U.S. bank accounts only, after identity verification. A fast withdrawal is described as same-day when started between 9 AM and 5 PM Eastern on a business day. A regular withdrawal takes 1 to 3 business days. The minimum bank withdrawal is $5. Traders outside the U.S. withdraw as crypto to an external wallet or an exchange instead. Full detail: how to withdraw from FOMO.

What FOMO cannot do for you

The unglamorous part

We have not measured why FOMO users lose money. Fees are one known input, alongside price movements, liquidity and execution. A $50 buy and a $50 sell incur $1.90 in ordinary platform fees, but a precise recovery price depends on how the buy fee is funded and the final sell size.

Sell questions people ask

Can I sell only part of a position?

Yes. The percentage buttons cover 25%, 50% and 100%, and a custom amount handles anything else. Each partial sell is its own trade and pays its own fee, which is why the slice count above matters.

Does the referral discount apply to a partial sell?

Only above 190 USDC. FOMO documents the 10% discount against the 0.50% rate that applies at 190 USDC and above. A partial sell under that size pays the banded Solana fee instead, which FOMO's help centre does not confirm carries the discount. Check the fee line on each slice.

Referral code

VIP10

FOMO's published offer: 10% off trading fees

Open the official referral page →

FOMO documents a reduction from its standard 0.50% fee to 0.45%. Duration and discounts on other fee bands are not specified. The public VIP10 page displays this offer; account acceptance has not been independently tested here. Check the fee in your account. Terms can change.

Independent affiliate guide. We may earn trading-fee commission if you use our code.

Related: opening the position, the full fee breakdown, getting the money out, modelling a trade before you make it, and the referral code that takes 10% off the 0.50% rate on both legs.

Sources and dates

These sources support the documented claims. A public-source check does not verify account acceptance or a completed trade. Historical observations retain their original dates. Read the evidence limits and corrections.

  1. Trading fees on fomoFOMO Labs help centre · public source read 18 September 2026
  2. Is the fomo app safe?FOMO Labs · recorded source date 21 August 2026 · historical source; not rechecked in this update
  3. How long does a bank withdrawal take?FOMO Labs help centre · public source read 18 September 2026